May 25, 2024, 9:16 pm

2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh: Scotland, Sri Lanka secure World Cup tickets

  • Update Time : Tuesday, May 7, 2024
  • 12 Time View
Photo: Collected

Sports Desk:
The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup will start on October 3, Bangladesh is the host of this year’s event. 10 teams will participate in this global tournament. The names of the eight teams of the game were known from the beginning, however, the names of the rest of the two teams who will qualify were unknown. The names of the two teams were obtained on Sunday (May 5) night. Sri Lanka qualified for the Bangladesh World Cup. Besides, for the first time in their history, Scotland got a ticket to the Women’s T20 World Cup.
Scotlands girls have made it to the main stage of the T20 World Cup after defeating Ireland in the semi-finals of the World Cup qualifiers. Batting first, Ireland scored 110 runs for 9 wickets at Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Stadium on Sunday. In reply, the Scottish girls won by 8 wickets with 22 balls in hand. Sri Lankan girls qualified as the last spot after Scotland. However, in the second semi-final, they had to go through a tough test. The Lankan girls were almost lost to the host United Arab Emirates (UAE). At the beginning of the day, the Lankan team scored 149 runs for 6 wickets. Vishmi Gunaratne scored the highest run. Yet, they were under pressure for most of the time due to UAE’s run chase. After the departure of captain Esha Oza, who scored 66 runs from 44 balls, UAE was knocked out of the match. In the end, they stopped at 134 runs for 7 wickets. Sri Lanka secured the final by winning by 15 runs. Sri Lanka and Scotland will meet at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday (May 7). The winning team will be in the ‘A’ group in the main stage of the World Cup. The other four teams in this group are – India, Pakistan, Australia, and New Zealand. The runner-up team of the World Cup qualifiers will play in the ‘B’ group with Bangladesh, England, South Africa, and West Indies. The 9th edition of the Women’s T20 World Cup will begin with the match between England and South Africa at the Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on October 3. In the other match of the day, Bangladesh and the runner-up team of the qualifiers will enter the same field. The match will be held at 7 pm.

Please Share This Post in Your Social Media

More News Of This Category
© All rights reserved © 2023 The Daily Sky
Theme Developed BY ThemesBazar.Com