April 20, 2024, 7:12 am

Newly-elected MPs sworn in

  • Update Time : Wednesday, January 10, 2024
  • 49 Time View

Desk Report:

The newly-elected members of parliament (MPs) were sworn in on Wednesday.

Of them, the outgoing speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury first took oath herself as an MP and then administered the oath to the Awami League MPs including Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina at the oath room of the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban at 10:15am.

Later, the elected independent lawmakers took oath of office 11:15am. The Jatiya Party MPs were also sworn in at 12:15pm.

The MPs signed the oath book as per custom.

Senior secretary of parliament secretariat AKM Abdus Salam conducted the oath-taking ceremony.

Earlier on Tuesday, the Election Commission published a gazette notification on the results of the 12th National Elections with details of 298 newly elected Members of Parliament (MPs). There is an obligation of taking oath within three days of the gazette notification.

The 12th National Elections took place on Sunday where the Awami League got an absolute majority with 222 seats.

Besides, Jatiya Party got victorious in only 11 seats and the AL’s allies the Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal and the Workers Party won one each. The Bangladesh Kalyan Party, which had once been in the BNP-led coalition, also secured a win in one seat.

A total of 1,970 candidates, including 1,534 from 28 political parties and 436 independents, vied in the polls where 41.8% votes were cast.

Please Share This Post in Your Social Media

More News Of This Category
© All rights reserved © 2023 The Daily Sky
Theme Developed BY ThemesBazar.Com