April 20, 2024, 8:03 am

PM Hasina takes oath as MP for 8th time

  • Update Time : Wednesday, January 10, 2024
  • 47 Time View

Desk Report:

Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was sworn in on Wednesday (January 10) as the Member of Parliament for the 8th time after landslide victory in the 12th Parliamentary election.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath to Hasina this morning at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban in the capital.

Hasina was first elected as a Member of Parliament in 1986. After that she was elected Member of Parliament in 1991, 1996, 2001, 2008, 2014 and 2018.

The Awami League (AL) secured a landslide victory in the 12th national election on Sunday (January), paving the way for the party to form the government for the fourth consecutive term.

Awami League (AL)–backed candidates won 222 seats in Sunday’s general election, while independent candidates won 62 seats.

Jatiya Party candidates won in 11 seats while three single candidates each from three parties — Bangladesh Workers’ Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-Jasod and Bangladesh Kalyan Party — won in their respective constituencies. (Source: BSS)

Please Share This Post in Your Social Media

More News Of This Category
© All rights reserved © 2023 The Daily Sky
Theme Developed BY ThemesBazar.Com