April 20, 2024, 6:04 am

Three-team tournament named BCB President’s Cup

  • Update Time : Thursday, October 8, 2020
  • 341 Time View

The upcoming three-team 50-over tournament, slated to begin from October 11, has been named BCB President’s Cup, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) CEO Nizamuddin Chowdhury informed today.

The competition will feature national team cricketers, players from the High Performance Unit and selected members of the 2020 ICC Under-19 World Cup champion squad.

The three teams will be led by Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah Riyad and Najmul Hossain Shanto and has been arranged by the BCB as part of its plans to bring cricket back onto the field. Although the BCB have not managed a sponsor for the event, Nizamuddin informed that plans are ongoing.

“We are trying to address the issue and talks are ongoing and even if we don’t do something for this tournament, we will arrange it for the next tournament since there will be some financial matters involved there,” Nizamuddin said.

The tournament will be a big step for the cricket board in its attempt to bring cricket back amongst the cricketers in a safe manner. The CEO informed that the players will enter the bio-secure on October 10. “The cricketers, support staff and everyone concerned will be tested before they check-in at the bio-bubble on October 10.

Talks are also ongoing regarding a corporate tournament. While BCB will focus on the upcoming tournament, the plans for the future series will be made after the three-team tournament begins.

Please Share This Post in Your Social Media

More News Of This Category
© All rights reserved © 2023 The Daily Sky
Theme Developed BY ThemesBazar.Com